Welcome to the Adena News site. Thanks for visiting!

Young Buckeyes Bantam Squad, 1st place Cheerleading Competition @ Jefferson County Fair.

Adena Lady Panther Basketball 2009 Winners
The West Elementary Lady Panther Basketball team won the 3rd and 4th grade championship of the Buckeye Local District. Pictured, 1st row kneeling: Katelynn McLaughlin, Kiara Thompson, Becky Zeroski, Rachael Zaccirey 2nd Row: Coach Paul Smith, Danielle Dvorcek, Rachel Zeroski, Maddie Doyle, Kayla Smith, Carlee Bailey, Coach Tee Thompson. Teammates not photographed: Brooklyn Binger and Hannah Lingenfelter

Chester, Mark, Jeff, and Joey Masloski provided another basketball Camp for Adena youth. The Masloski summer sport camp started with only six participants and more than doubled over the past year. The Masloski's team together to teach techniques, agility, and drills with fundamentals of basic basketball maneuvers. Photo provided by Amy Clelland Bottom Row [L-R] : Merada Morehead, Carlee Bailey, Brady McKinley, Andrew Clelland, Logan Barsch, Nicholas Coffland, Donovan Simeral, Damon Petrosino, Matthew Barsch Row 2: Maria Morehead, Brock Woodward, Madison Clelland, Kayla Smith, Devin Simeral, Robert Taylor, Logan Tonkovich, Nathan Thompson, Kiara Thompson Row 3: Joey Masloski, Hannah Masloski, Jenna Pugh, Josh Dudzik, Emily Merriman, Chad Durbin Top L-R: Daniel Duill, Jacob Sliva, Coach Jeff Masloski, James Sliva, Coach Chester Masloski, Courtney Durbin, Kacey Toto, Coach Mark Masloski Sara Oiler, Domenick Simeral

Adena Golf Open ages Twenty

This summer marked the 20th Annual Adena Open. There were 11 teams of players that competed in the golf tournament on August 18th. Rick Clelland, Ron Kowalski, Bob Runevitch, and Gary Runevitch took the winning title this year with a score of -9. The open was held at the Cadiz Country Club. The winning team receives a trophy and a cash prize. There are also skill prizes awarded such as, closest to the pin and longest drive. Dinner is provided for all registered players.

The Open was originated because many Adena residents were members at the Cadiz Country Club. Some of these golfers thought of the idea of having an Alumni scramble tournament and dinner. Hence, the first Adena Open was held. In 1989, first year it was officially sponsored, the winners of the Open were Mike Edgehouse, Bob Hargrave, John (Bud) Moreland, and Gary Zeroski.

The invitational competition is now known as The George Madzia Memorial Tournament because Madzia was ardently accountable for keeping the game locally active. Tom Crothers, Ron Kowalski, and Roger Reynolds helped Madzia organize the tourney throughout these years. Paul Kalonick was a key person in organizing the event this year.

The Open has become monumental in view of twelve avid Adena golfers who once played but are now deceased. The names of these players are placed on a George Madzia Memorial Plaque and it can be found inside the Peoples National Bank. Winners of the tournament are also plated on the plaque. The bank annually sponsors the event and has done so since 1989.

A DVD of the 2007 Tourney is being arranged and will portray a medley of Adena golfers. It includes a list of registered players that have played this year and twenty years ago. The cost is $10.00 and $2.00 of the proceeds will be deposited into the Memorial Fund at the Peoples National Bank. The money will be used to pay for postage required for mailing invitations. You can order a DVD by contacting Amy Clelland at (740) 546-4274. The George Madzia Memorial Adena Open is an invitational local tournament. Paul Kalonick, Ron Kowalski, and Roger Reynolds now coordinate the occasion. Annual invitations are sent to all registered players about one month prior to the event. In order qualify, you must reside in Adena, have been an Adena resident or have married a former Adena resident to play. The next annual open is scheduled for Saturday, August 16, 2008. If you'd like to be included on invitational register, please contact Paul Kalonick at 546-3444 or Ron Kowalski 546-3228.